No Travel? No Problem.

Remote Participation

Celebrate This Year’s SC and Society Awardees by Watching the SC21 Awards Ceremony

During the SC21 Awards Ceremony, held on Thursday, November 18, 2021 in St. Louis, the SC Awards and selected ACM and IEEE awards were presented. Congratulations to all of this year’s awardees!

Society Awards

ACM/IEEE-CS Ken Kennedy Award

David Abramson, University of Queensland

IEEE-CS Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award

David A. Bader, New Jersey Institute of Technology

ACM Gordon Bell Prize

Closing the “Quantum Supremacy” Gap: Achieving Real-Time Simulation of a Random Quantum Circuit Using a new Sunway Supercomputer

Yong (Alexander) Liu, Xin (Lucy) Liu, Fang (Nancy) Li, Yuling Yang, Jiawei Song, Pengpeng Zhao, Zhen Wang, Dajia Peng, and Huarong Chen of Zhejiang Lab, Hangzhou and the National Supercomputing Center in Wuxi; Haohuan Fu and Dexun Chen of Tsinghua University, Beijing, and the National Supercomputing Center in Wuxi; Wenzhao Wu of the National Supercomputing Center in Wuxi; and Heliang Huang and Chu Guo of the Shanghai Research Center for Quantum Sciences.

ACM Gordon Bell Special Prize for High Performance Computing-Based COVID-19 Research

Digital Transformation of Droplet/Aerosol Infection Risk Assessment Realized on Fugaku for The Fight Against COVID-19

Kazuto Ando, Rahul Bale, and Keiji Onishi, RIKEN Center for Computational Science (Japan); ChungGang Li and Makoto Tsubokura, RIKEN Center for Computational Science and Kobe University (Japan); and Satoshi Matsuoka, RIKEN Center for Computational Science and Tokyo Institute of Technology

ACM Student Research Competition (Graduate)

Second Place

Parallel Algorithms and Generalized Frameworks for Learning Large-Scale Bayesian Networks

Ankit Srivastava, Georgia Institute of Technology

ACM Student Research Competition (Undergraduate)

First Place

Datastore Design for Analysis of Police Broadcast Audio at Scale

Ayah Ahmad, University of Chicago

Third Place

Regulating Traffic in a Crowded Cache: Overcoming the Container Explosion Problem

Kevin Gao, University of California, Berkeley

ACM SIGHPC Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

Exascalable Communication for Modern Supercomputing

Dr. Rohit Zambre, University of California, Irvine

ACM SIGHPC Fellowships in Computational & Data Science

Read about the awardees on the SIGHPC website

Osahon Asowata (PhD, Biostatistics), College of Medicine, University of Ibadan

Somayeh Bakhtiari Ramezani (PhD, Computer Science), Mississippi State University

Kiana Burton (PhD, Astrophysics and Planetary Science), University of Colorado Boulder

Monique Hooley (MS, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering), University of California, Berkeley

Chinenye Ifebirinachi (PhD, Data Science & Analytics), North Carolina A&T State University

Daniela Markazi (PhD, Informatics), University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Ismael Mendoza (double PhD, Physics & Scientific Computing), University of Michigan

Lauren Oey (PhD, Psychology and Computational Social Science), University of California, San Diego

Ana-Arina Raileanu (MS, Data Science), École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Harry Reyes (PhD, Biomedical Informatics), Columbia University

Tanya Tafolla (PhD, Applied Mathematics), University of California, Merced

ACM SIGHPC Certificate of Appreciation

Presented to the authors of the SC20 paper selected for the SC21 Student Cluster Competition Reproducibility Challenge

A Parallel Framework for Constraint-Based Bayesian Network Learning via Markov Blanket Discovery

Ankit Srivastava, Sriram P. Chockalingam, and Srinivas Aluru, Georgia Institute of Technology

ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship

Read about the awardees on the ACM website

Mert Hidayetoglu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Tirthak Patel, Northeastern University

IEEE-CS TCHPC Award for Excellence for Early Career Researchers in High Performance Computing

Read about the awardees on the TCHPC website

Dr. Bing Xie, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Dr. Yang You, National Unversity of Singapore

Dr. Amelie Chi Zhou, Shenzhen University

SC Awards

Test of Time Award

Multilevel Algorithms for Multi-Constraint Graph Partitioning (published at SC98)

George Karypis and Vipin Kumar, University of Minnesota

Best Paper

Revealing Power, Energy and Thermal Dynamics of a 200PF Pre-Exascale Supercomputer

Woong Shin, Vladyslav Oles, Ahmad Maroof Karimi, J. Austin Ellis, Feiyi Wang, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Best Reproducibility Advancement

HPAC: Evaluating Approximate Computing Techniques on HPC OpenMP Applications

Konstantinos Parasyris, Giorgis Georgakoudis, Harshitha Menon, James Diffenderfer, Ignacio Laguna, Daniel Osei-Kuffuor, Markus Schordan, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Best Poster

Enabling Combustion Science Simulations for Future Exascale Machines

Jon S. Rood, Marc T. Henry de Frahan, Marc S. Day, Hariswaran Sitaraman, Shashank Yellapantula, Bruce A. Perry, Ray Grout, National Renewable Energy Laboratory; Ann Almgren, Weiqun Zhang, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Jackie H. Chen, Sandia National Laboratories

Best Visualization

Putting the Ocean into the Center: A Coupled ICON Atmosphere/Ocean Simulation in Spilhaus Projection

Niklas Röber, Michael Böttinger, Florian Ziemen, German Climate Computing Centre (DKRZ); Monika Esch, Helmuth Haak, Cathy Hohenegger, Daniel Klocke, Peter Korn, Leonidas Linadarkis, Rene Redler, Bjorn Stevens, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology; Thorsten Mauritsen, Stockholm University; Carson Brownlee, Johannes Günther, Jim Jeffers, Intel Corporation

Best Student Paper

Efficient Large-Scale Language Model Training on GPU Clusters Using Megatron-LM

Deepak Narayanan, Stanford University; Mohammad Shoeybi, Jared Casper, Patrick LeGresley, Mostofa Patwary, Vijay Anand Korthikanti, Dmitri Vainbrand, Prethvi Kashinkunti, Julie Bernauer, Bryan Catanzaro, NVIDIA Corporation; Amar Phanishayee, Microsoft Research; Matei Zaharia, Stanford University

Student Cluster Competition

Highest Linpack Benchmark

SUSTech Supercomputing Team

Tongzhou Gu, Yiqi Zhang, Tong Yuan, Botian Xu, Yingwei Zheng, Bingzhen Wang (Students); Jing Fan (Advisor); Southern University of Science and Technology

Overall Winner

Tsinghua University Team

Mingshu Zhai, Zeyu Song, Kaiyuan Rong, Yanyu Ren, Yuxi Zhu, Juncheng Cao (Students); Jidong Zhai (Advisor); Tsinghua University

Elizabeth Jessup, SC21 Awards Chair

Back To Top Button